winner 2022

Announcing The Winners Of The World
BioProtection Awards 2022!

Established to celebrate achievements across the biocontrol and biological agriculture, the World BioProtection Awards this week acknowledged some of our sector’s finest innovations at a stylish gala dinner at the National Exhibition Centre (NEC) in Birmingham, UK.
An eminent group of more than 20 expert judges had previously identified a shortlist of 38 finalists from 32 different organisations. Competition throughout the judging process was intense, and made the job of choosing the final winners a very difficult task across all ten categories. We would like to congratulate all finalists, and thank everyone who nominated innovations, projects and individuals for these distinguished awards.


1- Award for the Best Bioinsecticide Product

Sponsored by AG BIO SYSTEMS

The Winner is:

Cearitis for PIRA, an autonomous device that diffuses a natural attractant to trap fruit flies outside of olive orchards.

2- Award for the Best Biofungicide Product

Sponsored by Koppert and Bionema Ltd

The Winners are :

Biotalys for Evoca, and Oro Agri for PREV-AM®

3- Award for the Best Biochemical Product

Sponsored by APIS UK

The Winner is:

STK Bio-Ag Technologies for REGEV, the first ‘hybrid’ foliar fungicide.

4- Award for the Best Biostimulant Product

Sponsored by Koppert and Bionema Ltd

The Winners are :

FMC Corporation for Accudo, a versatile microbial biostimulant, and Sri Bio for IndiRoots, a unique granular formulation of multi-microbial plant stimulants.

5- Award for the Best Biofertiliser Product

Sponsored by AEH Innovative Hydrogel

The Winner is:

Tradecorp, for Phós’UP, a new biofertliser coming to the market this year.

6- Award for the Best Innovative Research Project of the Year

Sponsored by Mathys & Squire

The Winner is:

International Institute of Tropical Agriculture (IITA) for Aflasafe, a solution to the problem of aflatoxin contamination in agricultural produce

7- Award for the Industry Collaboration of the Year

Sponsored by Sri Bio

The Winner is:

UPL Ltd and Zespri Kiwifruit who worked together on a new product called Aureo Gold.

8- Award for the Biotech Start-up Business of The Year

Sponsored by Syngenta

The Winner is:

Botanical Solutions Inc (BSI)

9- Award for the Best Young Entrepreneur Award

Sponsored by Bionema

The Winner is:

Dr Fatma Kaplan, Founder and CEO of Pheronym.

10- Award for the Outstanding Achievement Award

Sponsored by Oro Agri

The Winner is:

Dr Willem Ravensberg, Corporate Sr Regulatory and Governmental Affairs Manager, Koppert Biological Systems.